Autumnal Thoughts…

6 09 2008

Last night, while drifting off to sleep, I swear I heard voices floating in on the autumnally tinged breeze:

Voice (think whispery): “Daaallle!!What’s happened to the blog? Where have you been? Have you given up? Dale-y, we hardly knew ye!”

The experience was, needless to say, an odd one. At first I thought I was dreaming. In fact, I thought it might have been a series of dreams, or the remnant voices of partying Republicans across the river in St. Paul, still riding the Sarah Palin high. Of course it was only my pesky subconscious, scolding me for the recent lack of posts (and perhaps the overall inconsistency, or even the constant apologizing and recommitting), telling me to either do the damn thing or not do it at all!

So here I am again vast readership! How have you been? Here’s what I’ve been up to in the last month: 

  • Took my 85-year-old mom camping at Lake Shetek State Park (see post). No, this was not meant as torture. She grew up in nearby Slayton, and learned to swim in Lake Shetek many years ago.
  • Attended the Minnesota State Fair twice for a mere 8 hours total…a new low! 
  • Like you, absorbed the Democratic and Republican conventions. It’s getting interesting, isn’t it?
  • Redrafted two short stories, sent one, fingers crossed.
  • Reintroduced the word “autumnal” into my seasonal vocabulary
  • Emotional preparation for another Gopher football season/attended game one **As of tonight 2-0! Who are these guys!?!
  • Decided it’s time to tell everyone I know (even friends!) to check out Series Of Dreams (Hi everyone)
  • Began work on a new “professional” website (read “serious”). There will be a link here soon.
  • The usual pursuit of writing leads
  • And my biggest news (see post): got a new steady writing gig at Suite 101 website. To read my articles go here! There are 5 up now; there will be 96 by the end of 2008. Exposure, and some wee pittance that will pay over time. 

See you soon!….either here or “out there”! Until then: Think Autumnal (I insist).